Removing someone from a Slack.com channel
To remove a team member from a channel:
- Click the information icon to view the channel info pane.
- In the Members list, click the person you’d like to remove.
- Select Remove from [channel name].
Your team member will be immediately removed, and will get a message from Slackbot to let them know who removed them from the channel.
Important things to note:
- By default, only Team Admins and Owners can remove a team member from achannel. These settings can be changed at https://my.slack.com/admin/settings.
- Team members who are removed from a private channel will no longer be able to access the private channels’s archives and will be unable to re-join the channel unless they are re-invited.
- Owners, Administrators, and regular users will still have access to channel history and files even if they are removed from the channel.
- Restricted Accounts will immediately lose access to channel history and files when they are removed from a channel.
- No one can be removed from the team’s common channel (usually #general).