How To Delete A Pinterest Account
Pinterest is probably one of the most engaging and helpful social networks out there, specifically since it allows users to create boards and actively update them with images they like or find inspirational. But what if you want to delete your Pinterest account? Perhaps your boards need a complete makeover, but you just do not have the time to edit or delete pins. As such, you can always choose to oversimplify the process by terminating your account first, then creating another.
The guide below will show you how to delete a Pinterest account in a few easy steps.
Step 1: Log in to your Pinterest account with your credentials.
Step 2: Click on your username at the top of the home page.
Step 3: Once you are prompted to your dashboard, locate the gear icon on the right side, click on it, then select “Account Settings” from the drop-down menu.
Step 4: Select “Deactivate Account” at the bottom of the “Account Basics” section.
Step 5: A dialog box will appear, prompting you to select the reason why you would like to deactivate your account. Keep in mind that, by deactivating your account, your profile and boards will not be visible on Pinterest anymore, and both your Twitter and Facebook profiles will be unliked, if you connected them.
If you want to terminate your account, click “Permanently close account” instead of selecting a reason. This will delete your Pinterest pins and boards forever, and you will not be able to get them back unless you change your mind within 14 days.
Step 6: Confirm that you want to deactivate your account. If you selected permanent account deletion, you will have to check your email to finish the process.
How Do You Reactivate a Deactivated Account?
Deactivating your Pinterest account is safer than completely deleting it, as you can still keep your pins and boards, though they will not be visible on Pinterest anymore. If you deactivated your account, you can easily reactivate it by logging in with your email and password as usually. At this point, you can access your pins and boards, manage your profile, follow others, get followed back, and more.
How to Reactivate a Closed Account?
If you closed your Pinterest account, you can still get it back – along with all your pins and boards – by logging in with your credentials. Pinterest will send you a link to reactivate your account, and everything you have to do is to follow the link, then confirm the reactivation. However, you will be able to reactivate your deleted Pinterest account only within 14 days after confirming its deletion, otherwise it will be lost for good.
If you are unsure whether you would like to come back to Pinterest at any time in the future, you should better opt for deactivating your account instead of deleting it. This will preserve all of your pins, boards, and account information, and you are entitled to reactivating your account at any point in the future. Due to Pinterest’s increasing pin database, it will be more difficult for you to find your old pins again, which will also take time and energy.