How do I close my eBay account?
This article tells you how to permanently close your eBay account. If you need to close a seller account, PayPal account, or Stores account, see Closing your accounts on eBay.
Is there anything we can do to help?
Sometimes people think they need to close their account because they don’t know how to solve a problem. Before you decide to close any of your accounts with eBay, we’d like to help you solve any problem you might be having.
Do you need to solve a problem with your account? If you have questions about your account or the billing process, we’ll help answer them for you. Learn more about managing your account.
Is there anything else we can do to help you? Please contact us.
How to close your eBay account
Here’s how to close your eBay account:
Before you close your account, take a look at the details below.
Be sure that all your fees are paid and your account balance is zero.
If you need help, contact us.
Quick answers about closing your eBay account
Will my account be closed immediately?
No, there’s a waiting period to ensure that any transactions you made are complete.
During the waiting period, you won’t be able to bid, make purchases, list items, or change your contact information, but you’ll still have access to your account information.
When the waiting period is over, you’ll receive an email confirming that your account is closed.
Can I later reopen my account?
No, you can’t reopen your account with the same username or email address, but you can create a new account.
If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, contact us to cancel your account closure.
What happens to my account after it’s closed?
You’ll no longer be able to use the username or email address associated with your closed account to access any part of eBay that requires an account, and your Feedback Profile will no longer be available to other members.
Can I close my account if it’s been suspended?
If your account has been suspended, you can’t close it until all matters have been resolved.
What if I have an outstanding balance on my account?
Before closing your account, make a one-time payment so there’s no balance remaining in your account.
What if there’s still money in my account?
Request a refund before you close the account. When you close the account, the account balance must be zero.
What happens to Feedback that I’ve left for others?
The Feedback you’ve left for other users won’t be deleted when you close your account. If your username is your email address, you might want to change it before requesting to close your account.
What does eBay do with my personal information after I close my account?