Can I delete messages on Viber? (iOS)

0

Can I delete messages on Viber? (iOS)

You asked, we answered! In the update to Viber version 5.6.5 we have added the ability to entirely delete messages that you have sent from Viber conversations.

This means that you may now delete a message that you have sent from not only your device but from the device of the user(s) you have sent the message to as well.

How to delete messages?

  1. Click on and long-hold your message that you want to delete
  1. Select the Delete option
  2. Choose to either Delete for myself or Delete for everyone*
  1. If you choose to Delete for everyone an in-app notification bubble will be displayed showing you deleted a message

*The option to delete a message on both your device and the device of the other user(s) in the chat, is only available for messages you have sent. This option is notavailable for messages that someone else has sent to you.

What happens if a user is running a version of Viber older than 5.6.5?

If you delete a message you have sent in a conversation with a user who does not have Viber version 5.6.5 or later, than this user will not see the in-app notification bubble that you deleted a message. The deleted message will simply delete from their conversation screen.

Will there be an in-app notification bubble if I choose the Delete for Myself Option?

No, there will not be an in-app notification bubble if you choose the Delete for myselfoption. Choosing this option only deletes the message from your devices, not from the device of the receiving user(s).

Please note there is no option to delete a message that another Viber user has sent you on their device. You may only choose to delete the message sent to you from your device.

Share.

About Author

Hi.Many companies use dark pattern techniques to make it difficult to find how to delete your account. deleteaccounts.net aims to be a directory of urls to enable you to easily delete your account from web services.

Leave A Reply